Home > lion, mac osx, tony mac osx > “This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer” fix

“This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer” fix

Had a hardtime to get Lion download started following the guide at http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/07/xmove-multibeast-install-os-x-107-lion.html, I kept getting “This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer” error while try to install Lion via App Store. Tried changing the system definition to MacPro3,1 without success. Found the solution from the comments below the guide (actually just found out it was mentioned very obviously in the guide as well, not sure it’s added after many people reported the same problem):

1) Get the newest version of multibeast (currently 3.8)
2) Select “System Utilities”, “Chimera” (this is the key), “MacPro3,1” and install
3) Restart

Categories: lion, mac osx, tony mac osx
  1. ricoch3n
    July 21, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Downloading is slow (using Verizon FIOS), there must be a lot of eager Lion users out there.

  2. July 21, 2011 at 7:06 am

    this did not work for me

    • July 21, 2011 at 7:22 am

      sorry my bad made a mistake.
      it works now for me thanx for the tip

      • ricoch3n
        July 21, 2011 at 10:39 am

        No problem, glad it helps.

  3. July 21, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Is there any way I can do this without using Tonymac stuff?

    • ricoch3n
      July 21, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      @Tim, if you are referring to updating to 10.6.8 and download Lion installation files Tonymac way seems to work pretty well and updating to the newest Chimera is the only way that I can confirm to work. If you are referring to the installation of Lion, you might want to check out this link: http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/08/make-a-bootable-mac-os-x-10-7-lion-installer-from-a-usb-flash-drive/, I followed the instruction and made a bootable usb drive and it works like a charm on a iMac that I am using. For my hackintosh I used Tonymac’s method (using xmove, non-fresh install). Usb method doesn’t work on my hackintosh, not sure about the dvd way.

      EDIT: I just tried with (the updated) Chimera + DVD made using instruction from http://osxdaily.com/2011/06/08/create-burn-bootable-mac-os-x-lion-install-disc/ and it works as well. So basically getting 10.6.8 is just to set up app store and prepare for purchasing+downloading Lion, once you burn the image to a dvd disc, you can install to a hackintosh that’s not even updated to 10.6.8 yet if you boot through Chimera.

  4. falkor
    July 31, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    This is going to sound stupid but I downloaded MultiBeast and installed it but can’t find where it is located or how to launch it.

    My problem is I have a “Macmini1,1” which had a Core Duo cpu. I swapped it out with a T7600 Core 2 Duo cpu but my machine model is still set to “Macmini1,1” and it needs to be “Macmini2,1” So, I read on there to use MultiBeast -> System Utilities -> Chimera and change the model name. Problem is, I can’t find MultiBeast on my system. The install ran fine and completed successfully. So where is it (MultiBest)?

    • ricoch3n
      July 31, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      From what you described you’ve already run MultiBeast, but not not sur if you ran the newest version ( 3.8 works great in my case ) of it. You will not be able to find MB in your Application folder. Think of it as some post installation program that takes care of some system configs, provides some drivers for the hardware etc. Under system definition could you and have you tried setting to MacPro3,1? Make sue system utilities and Chimera are also selected. After running MB do a reboot then try to download Lion again.

    • August 17, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Just look around in the installer for the System Definitions, then install the definitions that most closely approximate your machine.

    • August 17, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      Looks like MultiBeast won’t help on a Mac mini anyway. The procedure I used is documented here, and works great on my upgraded Mac mini: http://vureyosx.blogspot.com/2011/07/now-for-best-way-to-install-lion-on.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment