Home > zsh > Mac OS X Lion zsh installation with brew guide

Mac OS X Lion zsh installation with brew guide

brew install zsh
cd $HOME
git clone https://github.com/robbyrussell/oh-my-zsh.git .oh-my-zsh
sudo chsh -s /usr/local/bin/zsh yourusernamehere
cp ~/.oh-my-zsh/templates/zshrc.zsh-template ~/.zshrc

Since I am a git nut, I fell in love with zsh right away after I saw the following when I was testing the auto-completion feature of zsh (glad the default zshrc.zsh-template has git enabled in the plugins setting):

The big yellow X means there are changes under current repository, “exp” in red is the name of the current branch. Once I committed the changes, the big yellow X sign disappeared. In other words I don’t even need to type git status to check if current repository is clean – can’t stop loving this feature.

Credits:
http://seletz.github.com/blog/2012/01/06/switch-from-bash-to-zsh/

Categories: zsh
  1. sgandon
    January 29, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Great thanks that is the best (because simple) tutorial I found to install zsh for newbies.

  1. September 30, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Leave a comment